Scientific Advisory Board

Since 2020 the Centre's newly appointed Scientific Advisory Board consists of:

Dörte Andres (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz)

Doerte Andres is Full Professor at the School of Translation, Interpreting, Linguistics and Cultural Studies of the University of Mainz in Germersheim (FTSK) holding the Chair of Interpreting Studies. Doctorate conferred by the University of Vienna in 2000 for a thesis entitled "Consecutive Interpreting and Note-taking"; Post-doctoral research in the field of Interpreting Studies on the subject of "Interpreters as Literary Figures"; Awarded with the Academic Teaching Prize of Rhineland Palatinate in 2008 in recognition of outstanding achievements in the field of academic teaching.

Reine Meylaerts (University of Leuven)

Reine Meylaerts is Professor of Comparative Literature and Translation Studies at KU Leuven where she teaches courses on European literature, comparative literature and translation and plurilingualism in literature. She was director of CETRA (Centre for Translation Studies) from 2006 to 2014 and is now board member. Her current research interests comprise translation policy of the past and present, intercultural mediation and transfer in multilingual cultures. She is the author of numerous articles and chapters on these topics. She is also review editor of Target. International Journal of Translation Studies. From 2011 to 2014 she was coordinator of FP7-PEOPLE-2010-ITN: TIME: Translation Research Training: An integrated and intersectoral model for Europe. She is former Secretary General (2004-2007) of the European Society for Translation Studies (EST) and Chair of the Doctoral Studies Committee of EST.

Helle V. Dam (Aarhus University)

Helle V. Dam, PhD, is Professor of Interpreting and Translation Studies at Aarhus University, where she directs the master program in conference interpreting and co-directs the research program Communication in International Business and the Professions. She teaches courses on interpreting, translation, business communication and research methodology. Her research covers a wide variety of aspects (sociological, linguistic, cognitive) of translation and interpreting, and she is the author and editor of numerous publications on these topics. She was a member of the Executive Board of the European Society for Translation Studies (EST), 2013-19, chaired the organizing committee of the 8th EST Congress in 2016 and has management experience from positions as head of department and vice dean at the former Aarhus School of Business. She currently serves as a member of the Board of Education for the sign-language and speech-to-text interpreting program at Copenhagen University College and is Aarhus University’s representative in CIUTI.

Arnt Lykke Jakobsen (Copenhagen Business School)

Arnt Lykke Jakobsen is professor emeritus (since 2014) of translation and translation technology at the Copenhagen Business School (CBS). He was an assistant/associate professor of English literature at Copenhagen University from 1972 to 1985. In 1985, after joining CBS, his interest in translation became oriented towards technical and business communication. The growing interest in exploring translation processes and methods led to his invention of the keylog software programme Translog in 1995. Subsequent versions of the programme have been a key technology in a wide range of research projects, including two major EU projects, the Eye-to-IT project (2006-2009) and the CASMACAT project (2011-2014). In 2005 he established CRITT, the CBS Centre for Research and Innovation in Translation and Translation Technology, which he headed until his retirement. The main focus of research here has been on developing and exploiting a methodology for translation process research using keylogging and eyetracking. Results of the centre’s research have been published widely in journals, book contributions and in special volumes of the Copenhagen Studies in Language series. In 2014, he was appointed to the CETRA Chair.